javascript - array.push(newItem) is breaking the function.

You are currently not logged in. You can view the forums, but cannot post messages. Log In | Register

02-Sep-17 07:36
Hi all, I am new to javascript, and I'm having an issue with a dropdown box in html (<select>).

The problem is that I need to re-arrange an array the add the first value on the end. However, whenever I try adding the first item to the end the whole function breaks! Here is what I'm working with:

HTML:

<p id="selectedItemLabel"></p>
<select id="dropDownItems">
<option value="a">A</option>
<option value="b">B</option>
<option value="c" selected>C</option>
<option value="d">D</option>
</select>

The JS:

function rearrangeAndDisplay() {
var myArray = ["A", "B", "C", "D"];
var selectedDropDown = document.getElementById("dropDownItems");
var selectedItemIndex = selectedDropDown.selectedIndex;
var selectedItemFromDropDown = selectedDropDown.options[selectedItemIndex].text;

document.getElementById("selectedItemLabel").innerHTML = "Selected Item is: " + selectedItemFromDropDown;

var myRearrangedArray = myArray.slice(selectedItemIndex) + myArray.slice(0, selectedItemIndex);

// This is the line that messes everything up:
myRearrangedArray.push(selectedItemFromDropDown);

alert(myRearrangedArray);
}

rearrangeAndDisplay();
document.getElementById("dropDownItems").addEventListener("change", rearrangeAndDisplay);

Without the line with the push() function everything works like its supposed to, however none of the function works with the line.

So with default selected it should be C, D, A, B, C (the first value added on the end), but it doesnt work.

If I take out the push() function I get C, D, A, B like i should, and when a different item is chosen from drop-down menu it changes and displays everything like it should.