MySQL for Absolute Beginners

You are currently not logged in. You can view the forums, but cannot post messages. Log In | Register

25-Aug-11 01:00
This is a forum topic for discussing the article "MySQL for Absolute Beginners":

http://www.elated.com/articles/mysql-for-absolute-beginners/

Never used MySQL before? Start here! This tutorial walks you through the very basics of MySQL and SQL databases. Learn how to install MySQL, how to issue commands, and how to create and use databases.
25-Aug-11 07:57
Nice tutorial. Thanks.

--
http://www.mauconline.net
26-Aug-11 19:57
Nice article. What type of exercises would you recommend for learning MySQL and SQL?
29-Aug-11 07:49
Thanks for the positive feedback guys

@Raven: Good question! In my PHP book ( http://www.amazon.com/Beginning-PHP-5-3-Matt-Doyle/dp/0470413964 ) I give a fairly simple membership site example, with a Members table and an AccessLog table. I always find it helps to build a practical example - for example, a music database with artists, albums and tracks, or a shopping list manager with ingredients and recipes. Anything that involves real-world things, and uses a couple of tables that you join together, will give you a good grounding in SQL queries.

--
Matt Doyle, Elated
29-Aug-11 18:49
Thanks Matt, I really like the examples you gave me. For the longest I've been coding HTML and CSS, and tampering with PHP. But I've yet to actually dig in and build an application or component, this is just the inspiration I needed!
01-Sep-11 03:37
@Raven: You're welcome, and good luck!

--
Matt Doyle, Elated
01-Sep-11 21:18
ok I set up the database and tried the set table command: source books.sql and I get an error: failed to open books.sql error 2
Books.sql being a notepad file where I copied the code in the tutorial and saved as a file in xampp/mysql/book.txt changing the .txt extension to .sql. What am I not doing right?

--
Jack
02-Sep-11 03:30